Shortlist

  • Your shortlist currently contains no properties. To add properties to your shortlist please visit their pages and click add to shortlist.

  • Overview
  • Reviews
  • Full Calendar & Book
  • Summary
  • Map
  • Full Details
  • Similar Properties

Property Features

Baby Friendly 
Bed Linen Supplied 
Broadband Available 
Garden 
Parking at Property 
Sea or River View 
Terrace 
Towels Supplied 
Baby Friendly 
Bed Linen Supplied 
Broadband Available 
Garden 
Parking at Property 
Sea or River View 
Terrace 
Towels Supplied 

A comfortable and well-presented house with stunning views directly down the River Dart towards Dartmouth Royal Naval College in the distance. The property is one half of a detached riverside villa and is ideally set up for families or one/two couples alike.  The accommodation is cleverly presented over three floors to a good standard throughout and has the added benefit of off-road parking. (N.B. This property can be linked with 2 Galions Quay to create a property sleeping up to 12)

Coast & Country Cottages can not be held responsible for the accuracy of the position of the property shown on the map, as these are powered by Google - if you have any concerns about the location of the property then please call our team on 01548 843773 who will be able to advise you.

Due to building work next door to the property between the months of February and July, we ask all interested parties to call the Dartmouth Office for more detailed information. 

LOCATION Galions Quay is found on Castle Road, Warfleet, just 3/4 mile or so from Dartmouth town centre and its wide variety of shops, cafes, galleries and restaurants.  Although only a pleasant 10-15 minute walk into town there is also a regular water-ferry service that runs from the nearby castle.  Blackpool Sands beach and the stunning Start Bay coastline are within just a few minutes drive.
VIEWS Looking directory downriver the house has superb water views with Dartmouth to one side and Kingswear on the other.  The view is particularly striking from master bedroom on the upper level.
ENTRANCE Two steps lead down from the parking area to the covered porch which in turn leads into the ground floor hallway (middle level of three).  Stairs lead up to two bedrooms with a further bedroom and sunroom at the lower ground floor level.
KITCHEN A fully fitted kitchen has a range of wall and floor units, four-ring ceramic hob, electric oven, dishwasher, fridge/freezer and microwave. (N.B. There is a UTILITY AREA accessed via the master bedroom en suite with top-loading washing machine and tumble dryer).  One step leads down to the living accommodation.
SITTING/DINING ROOM This sunny open-plan space has a large picture window offering delightful river views.  The sitting area is comfortably furnished with two large leather sofas, widescreen TV, DVD player and bookcase.  The dining/conservatory area has a good-sized oval table with six chairs and further river views. 
BEDROOMS Three in total, two of which are en suite.  On the first floor (upper level) is a spacious double bedroom with panoramic views along the River Dart towards the Naval College.  The bedroom is furnished with a King-size bed, bedside units, two sets of drawers, wardrobe and TV. The en suite has a shower cubicle, wash-hand basin/vanity unit, mirrored cupboards and w.c. (door through to utility area - see above).  On the lower ground floor is a further double room with 4'6" bed, bedside units, wardrobe/drawers, TV and glass doors to the sun room.  The en suite has a shower, w.c. and wash-hand basin.  The third bedroom, has a double bed, bedside cabinet, single wardrobe and a raised cabin bed (with fixed wooden ladder) built into the wall (not suitable for adults).  N.B. All duvets, pillows, bed linen and towels supplied. 

BATHROOMS In addition to the two en suite shower rooms there is a family bathroom on the first floor with bath, electric shower (over), vanity unit with basin and w.c.
BABY FRIENDLY EQUIPMENT A travel cot and high chair are provided.
SUNROOM Adjacent to (and accessed from) the lower ground floor bedroom is a sun room with small sofa, two rocking chairs and radio.  This in turn opens out onto a good sized outside space.
OUTSIDE The gravelled area to the front of the property has lovely river views and a table and chairs for al fresco dining or a relaxing early evening drink!
PARKING Allocated off-road space for one car with additional parking usually available in Castle Road
OTHER INFORMATION Mostly carpeted throughout with floor tiles in the sun room.  Electric night storage heating with hot water via immersion.  Strictly no smoking or dogs permitted.

 

Reviews by Feefo

( 4 from 7 reviews)

Date

7 months ago

Score

Service:

Accommodation:

Comment

“The booking process was smooth and easy. When we asked for assistance, the help was prompt. Re-booking for next year was even easier.”

Coast & Country Cottages' reply:

Thank you for your positive feedback in respect of our service.  It was pleasing to hear that you received a prompt response when assistance was required.  We can see from our records that you have already re-booked 1 Galions Quay for 2018.  We look forward to seeing you again next year!

Date

10 months ago

Score

Service:

Accommodation:

Comment

“great location for castle and not too far from Dartmouth centre and a great view of the river dart, we would certainly stay again”

Coast & Country Cottages' reply:

We were so pleased to hear that you loved your stay, and the wonderful views, from 1 Galion's Quay in Dartmouth.   We do agree that the fantastic location of this property means that you can enjoy the best of both worlds - being able to explore both historic Dartmouth Castle and walk easily to Dartmouth's shops, art galleries and restaurants.   We were delighted to hear that you would certainly stay again and look forward to welcoming you back soon.\n  

Date

11 months ago

Score

Service:

Accommodation:

Comment

“View second to none, but not having read the access statement thoroughly the variety of level changes was challenging for those less mobile. the dining table in the conservatory looked nice but as it had no blinds when the sun shone it was unbearably hot and we resorted to wearing sun hats indoors.”

Coast & Country Cottages' reply:

Many thanks for your review in respect of 1 Galion's Quay.  We were grateful for your feedback regarding the property and will investigate during the next property changeover.  We do hope you enjoyed your stay despite the issues raised and do look forward to welcoming back to Dartmouth again in the very near future.\n\n

Date

1 year ago

Score

Service:

Accommodation:

Comment

“This property is situated in the best location with beautiful views onto the river. It is a house I would recommend highly.
I do have to comment on a couple of things that I think need attending to and this is aimed at the owners. For a beautiful house,the outside could do with a clean as it is quite dirty. The floor in the ensuite of the downstairs bedroom is soft underfoot ,the carpet in the hall and lounge are quite stained.
Please don't let these comments put anyone off,I would return tomorrow if I could”

Coast & Country Cottages' reply:

Thank you for your valuable feedback in respect of 1 Galions Quay in Dartmouth- we were so pleased to hear that you would recommend the property to others. We have passed on your comments about maintenance to the owner. Thanks again for taking the time to leave your review and we hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Date

1 year ago

Score

Service:

Accommodation:

Comment

“The house has much improved from our last visit and there is nothing negative to say, although a chair in the main bedroom would have been useful and there is still no cafetiere!

Unfortunately the decking lets the house down. Previously it was a simple wooden decking with decent table and chairs. Now it is dirty pea shingle with weeds, rickety furniture (probably because of the shingle) and extremely worn child's slide, etc. and the rail down the steps is not safe.

However why leave the house for the garden when you have those views!”

Date

2 years ago

Score

Service:

Accommodation:

Comment

“The view as you walk into the living room is breathtaking and much closer than appears in the pictures, the same view from the master bedroom is even better as you are higher up. Our 1st impression of the kitchen was that there is no welcome pack which we found unusual, as the basics are usually always found with self catering premises in our experience. There wasn't much crockery, particularly bowls and catering for 6 people would be difficult, also some plastic containers for the fridge would have been useful. Instructions for use of the hob would have been helpful left in the kitchen as we tried for 2 hours trying to work it out and then ordered a takeaway, later to find instructions hidden away in a cupboard in the living room. Very comfy sofas in the living room and dining places for 8 in the conservatory off the living room again with some amazing views which at night are really pretty with the lights of Kingswear and Dartmouth. The master bedroom is large and the bed is VERY firm. There is a travel hairdryer supplied but no mirror so we brought the one up from the downstairs hall to keep in the bedroom. The downstairs bedroom with its own bathroom and conservatory did smell a bit musty but once opened up it was fine although the bathroom was a bit tired. There is an allocated parking space (one for each property) immediately outside the which is very tight particularly if both cars are not small. The roads to the property from town are quite narrow (one-way traffic in places) and probably quite congested in peak holiday time. The stroll into Dartmouth is pretty with gentle slopes and takes 15 mins, allowing for some sightseeing. If you didn't fancy walking into Dartmouth the Castle ferry (small boat) was just a few minutes walk from the house but only runs until 5pm. You really can't beat the views and overall we loved our stay so much so that we have re-booked for next May!”

Coast & Country Cottages' reply:

Many thanks for your review of 1 Galions Quay in Dartmouth.

We are grateful for your feedback and sorry that you experienced a couple of issues with the property. These will be fed back to the owner so that they can be addressed over the winter period.

It was so pleasing to hear how much you enjoyed the amazing views from 1 Galions Quay and that you loved your stay so much you have re-booked the property for next May!

See you soon!

Date

2 years ago

Score

Service:

Accommodation:

Comment

“This is mixed..... The view from the property is stunning and always changing, well situated. Pleased to see that the garden had been addressed this year enabling such views. The property is comfortable and the wifi assisted with our pre-teen when the weather was bad.
Some improvements have been made since last year, although I think the property needs a little more maintenance/upkeep/attention......sliding windows in the living area are so stiff needs replacing or new runners, why have such a fab view if you can't open up and make the most of it? Heaters, half don't work, this really needs addressing as the downstairs bedroom wasn't just cold it was damp and musty smelling, writes off a double bedroom.
We've been to this property twice before and it seems to be in need of some tlc now, would we come again? Possibly but I think unlikely.”

Loading availability, please wait...
Unavailable
Selected
Available
Holiday start day

1 Galions Quay

Dartmouth

  • Sleeps: 6
  • Bedrooms: 3
From £631 to £1,719 per week.

Availability & Book

S M T W T F S
    1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 31    
Holiday start day
Unavailable