Shortlist

  • Your shortlist currently contains no properties. To add properties to your shortlist please visit their pages and click add to shortlist.

  • Overview
  • Reviews
  • Full Calendar & Book
  • Summary
  • Map
  • Full Details
  • Similar Properties

Property Features

Pet Friendly 
Bed Linen Supplied 
Broadband Available 
Garden 
Open Fire or Stove 
Parking at Property 
Terrace 
Pet Friendly 
Bed Linen Supplied 
Broadband Available 
Garden 
Open Fire or Stove 
Parking at Property 
Terrace 

Milton Cottage is a pretty Grade II listed thatched property standing within private lawned and wooded gardens in the tiny hamlet of Sutton, just 1/2 mile from the village of South Milton and within a few minutes drive of the beautiful South Devon coastline. The cottage is full of character with original crossbeams, exposed stone walls and lovely open fireplaces and offers cosy and comfortable accommodation for up to six people. There is a sunny conservatory overlooking the superb gardens with patio area and flowering shrub borders, as well as parking for 2-3 cars.

Coast & Country Cottages can not be held responsible for the accuracy of the position of the property shown on the map, as these are powered by Google - if you have any concerns about the location of the property then please call our team on 01548 843773 who will be able to advise you.

LOCATION Milton Cottage is located in the tiny hamlet of Sutton just 1/2 mile from the village of South Milton and 10 minutes from the beautiful South Devon coastline. Thurlestone village, with its superb links golf course, hotel and amenities is just 3 miles away.
ENTRANCE The front door opens into a HALL/STUDY with piano and dartboard which in turn leads into the living accommodation.
LOUNGE/DINING ROOM This is a large open plan room with lovely stone fireplaces at each end, TV with Freesat, video and dining table and chairs
KITCHEN Fully fitted with gas cooker and hob, eye level grill and fan assisted oven, microwave, fridge, freezer, dishwasher, breakfast table and chairs, radio/CD player and TV.
CONSERVATORY with doors to sun terrace and washing machine and tumble dryer. Off the hallway is a separate w.c.
BEDROOMS Three: Double bedroom with 5' antique brass bed. Second bedroom with 4'6'' double bed. The master bedroom is approached via a private hall, has twin 3' beds and TV. N.B. Duvets and pillows provided, however tenants will need to bring their own towels.  (Travel Lite provides a dedicated laundry service to cater for all the linen and towel needs of holiday makers in and around Salcombe and the South Hams.  To hire towels for your holiday, please call 01548 843578 or email travellite@coastandcountry.co.uk

LINEN AND TOWELS: All bed linen will be provided, however guests will need to bring their own towels, beach towels, tea towels and bath mats.

BATH/SHOWER ROOMS Ground floor bathroomwith w.c., hand-basin, bath, electric shower and heated towel rail. First floor shower room with walk in shower, hand basin and heated towel rail.
OUTSIDE Superb lawned gardens with patio areas and flowering shrub borders. Outdoor furniture.
PARKING For 2-3 cars
OTHER INFORMATION Gas central heating and hot water. Telephone available for incoming local calls only.  Broadband available at property.

Reviews by Feefo

( 4 from 7 reviews)

Date

11 months ago

Score

Service:

Accommodation:

Comment

“poor cleaning this is the second time we have booked with cost and country the last time was about 8 years ago and the last property was in a dirty condition when we arrived they sent someone straight away to re clean and gave us a bottle of wine”

Coast & Country Cottages' reply:

Many thanks for your feedback, although we were concerned to read that the Milton Cottage was not satisfactorily presented prior to your arrival. As you will appreciate, we work very hard with our owners and housekeepers to ensure high standards of cleanliness are maintained, so it is very disappointing to read these comments. Your feedback has been passed onto the housekeeper concerned. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused- if you had kindly informed us during your stay, we would have been happy to send somebody to attend. We trust that you had an enjoyable holiday and hope to welcome you back to the area again soon.

Date

11 months ago

Score

Service:

Accommodation:

Comment

“I assume you require a review of our accommodation - Milton Cottage, South Milton, Devon?

Good location for exploring the South Hams, large and characterful cottage, lovely large garden.

As other visitors noted in the visitors' book - it could be cleaner. It was superficially clean but needs a deep clean every now and then. Downstairs bathroom mat was very dusty and hairy, extractor fan broken in upstairs bathroom, mattresses on both double beds need replacing and door to smaller double bedroom needs fixing so that it can be closed properly.

But a delightful property, so if these things are sorted, it will be great. We had a lovely holiday here. Would be useful to include presence of iron and board in property particulars, as I needlessly brought an iron with us!”

Coast & Country Cottages' reply:

Many thanks for your feedback, although we were concerned to read that the property was not satisfactorily presented prior to your arrival. As you will appreciate, we work very hard with our owners and housekeepers to ensure high standards of cleanliness are maintained, so it is disappointing to read these comments. Your feedback has been passed onto the housekeeper concerned. Similarly, your comments regarding the various maintenance issues at the property will be followed up by our Property Services team. We trust that you had an enjoyable stay in spite of these issues and hope to welcome you back to South Milton again soon.


Thank you for your reply. I would like to reiterate that it is a lovely property and I would consider staying there again. Also, I feel it may not be an issue for the housekeeper who cleans in between holidaymakers, as all the weekly cleaning you would expect to be done during the 5 hour handover period (e.g. vacuum floors, clean kitchen surfaces, clean toilets and bathrooms etc) had been done. It's more that a deep clean needs to be done every now and then, such as wash bath mats, clean tops of skirting boards, window sills, inside kitchen cupboards, vacuum under furniture (e.g. dresser in kitchen, where there was a lot of filth, as I saw when looking for a dropped toy), vacuum corners of bathroom where hair accumulates. Those sorts of things would make it feel cleaner overall.


Thank you for this additional feedback- it is very useful to know. We have fed this back to our Housekeeping Team who will look to organise a deep clean. We were delighted to hear that you loved the property and hope to see you again soon. 

Date

11 months ago

Score

Service:

Accommodation:

Comment

“Quick and efficient with the details and paperwork via email and post, yes we certainly would use Coast and Country again.”

Coast & Country Cottages' reply:

It is great to hear such positive comments in respect of your fourth stay at Milton Cottage in South Milton.  We were particularly pleased to hear that you would recommend us to others.  We hope to welcome you back to the beautiful South Hams in the very near future.  

Date

1 year ago

Score

Service:

Accommodation:

Comment

“Everything you expect from the description plus some charming surprises. The huge conservatory turned out to be a real bonus in both sunny and wet weather and the handy yet peaceful location was perfect for all our family old and young.”

Coast & Country Cottages' reply:

Thank you for your positive feedback. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at Milton Cottage in South Milton - it sounds like the property suited you perfectly. We hope to welcome you back to the area again in the near future.  

Date

1 year ago

Score

Service:

Accommodation:

Comment

“A beautiful cottage in a lovely setting but not one we would visit again. Although a dog friendly cottage, the garden wasn't secure so we were unable to let our pooch off for a run in the garden in case she darted under a fence. If you don't like spiders, don't go here. The cottage was full of them, understandably from the thatched roof. The sheer amount of cobwebs in the property was also not great. If you can look past these, the cottage has everything you need and has a fab amount of space and great for games of hide and seek.”

Date

1 year ago

Score

Service:

Accommodation:

Comment

“Nice cottage near some great beaches”

Coast & Country Cottages' reply:

Many thanks for your kind review of Milton Cottage in South Milton. We were so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at this lovely cottage, especially its fantastic location close to South Milton Sands and only 3 miles from Thurlestone village, with its links golf course, hotel and amenities. Your positive words regarding the service provided by our team are particularly appreciated. We hope you choose to stay with us again in future.

Date

2 years ago

Score

Service:

Accommodation:

Comment

“Excellent”

Coast & Country Cottages' reply:

I would like to thank you for taking the time and effort to log back in to amend the rating. We look forward to seeing back in the South Hams again in the near future.

Loading availability, please wait...
Unavailable
Selected
Available
Holiday start day

Milton Cottage

South Milton

  • Sleeps: 6
  • Bedrooms: 3
From £637 to £1,586 per week.

Availability & Book

S M T W T F S
      1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31  
Holiday start day
Unavailable

Special Offers

10% off the available August weeks at Milton Cottage