“After requesting the high chair and travel cot be made available prior to arrival, this did not to happen.”
Upon arrival at the accommodation, with a toddler in tow, we had to search for both the travel cot and high chair.
The chair was located under the bed which we then proceeded to put up straight away due to our toddler being restless needing sleep after a lengthy journey down.
We continued the search for a high chair, which after some time we found on the 2nd floor! Which we then had to take down 2 flights of stairs, one being rather narrow and steep from the loft bedroom which wasn't ideal.
We set this up in the kitchen where we thought it would rightly go and was very shocked at the state of it; the high chair was filthy with stains and food still left on from the last meal and potentially from meals prior to that.
Luckily we had brought disinfectant spray and cloths so after digging those out from the luggage, begun to clean it.
It wasn't until a couple of days into the stay that we found the 2nd floor bedroom bin not emptied. And in addition to this, the 1st floor bathroom toilet brush was not clean to say the least. I will spare you the findings on the brush/holder.
It was disappointing to find the coasters in the living room sprinkled with crumbs, which made us question if the place had actually been given a clean at all before we arrived.
Personally, I would have liked to have had curtains in the living room, especially with this being on road/pavement level and therefore lacking privacy without them. We found it to be cold when sat in the chair in the window in the evening, without the curtains there acting as a barrier.
We had spent more time inside the property than we usually would, due to the covid restrictions and was disappointed to find it not completely up to the standards a reasonable person would expect.
However, couldn't fault the location but for the price we paid I would have expected the above points not needed to be raised.
Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback, although we were concerned to read that the property was not satisfactorily presented prior to your arrival. As you will appreciate, we work very hard with our owners and housekeepers to ensure high standards of cleanliness are maintained, so it is very disappointing to read these comments. Your feedback has been passed on to the housekeeper/cleaner concerned. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience this may have caused. Please know that if you had made us aware of these issues during your stay, we would have done our best to rectify them at the time. We do hope that you had an enjoyable holiday in spite of the issues raised and look forward to welcoming you back to Salcombe in the not too distant future Owner relations