Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only.T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Devon 4 minutes ago

5 people have recently viewed this property

Fairview

Salcombe, Devon (Ref. 1038356)

3.8

Coast & Country Cottages rating

  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes

  • Show on map

Features

  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance

* Based on a combined average customer score

Group 2 Created with Sketch.

16 Customer Review(s)

  • Lisa

    “I'm not normally compelled to write feedback but feel the need to, based on our experience as a family.”

    Firstly, I would like to say the owner was both accommodating and helpful before our visit, giving us verbal instructions on parking, location, keys etc etc. The cottage itself was quaint and whilst it had its own nuances, such as a toaster that only toasted the bottom half of a slice of bread, a shower that was "tight" to get in and out of (we're all very slim so may be an issue for those less mobile) overall it was very nice and well equipped. However the biggest issue that I would like to ...

    Firstly, I would like to say the owner was both accommodating and helpful before our visit, giving us verbal instructions on parking, location, keys etc etc. The cottage itself was quaint and whilst it had its own nuances, such as a toaster that only toasted the bottom half of a slice of bread, a shower that was "tight" to get in and out of (we're all very slim so may be an issue for those less mobile) overall it was very nice and well equipped. However the biggest issue that I would like to raise is over the obvious dampness throughout the property. For the first few days the weather was warm and dry, whilst there was a musty smell, it wasn't too noticeable. The last 4 days of our stay the weather was a little damp and the problem of dampness in the property became more distinct. Clothes that we hadn't been worn were damp, damp clothes refused to dry and anything left on the floor felt wet too touch. The biggest concern was sleeping, I think the property has an extractor fan installed on a timer, at night this didn't run. The bed clothes felt damp to the skin and the windows were covered in condensation. My children (Both very athletic 11 & 14) complained of tight chests in the morning. Upon removing the sheets from their beds on the last day, a large damp patch was discovered in the corner of the room, there was similar evidence in the double bedroom, under the window. This confirmed why everything that we wore also felt damp. It is my view that either the extractor system isn't working effectively or there is a bigger problem that needs to be addressed. Either way, I don't believe that it's of an acceptable standard to be rented out as a holiday let, until these problems have been addressed. I will refrain from publishing a formal review on the website until such time as I have had a satisfactory response / compensation from the owner / Sykes cottages. Kind regards, Lisa

    - Lisa, August 2022

    Thank you for your feedback about your stay at Fairview in August. We are really pleased that you found the information we provided helpful, we always aim to give our guests as much useful information as we can before their visit. Thank you for mentioning that the property is very well equipped and now that you have brought the faulty toaster to our attention, we will make sure this is addressed. It is a shame that you didn’t report this to us during your stay, as there was a spare toaster available in the property. We take on board your comment about the shower door – thank you. We were saddened to read your concerns with condensation towards the end of your holiday. Unfortunately, the ventilation system had been turned off without our knowledge, prior to your stay. The situation could have easily rectified if it had been communicated to us at the time. Measures have been put in place to ensure that this situation isn’t repeated. Property Owner

Summary

  • Two bedrooms: 1 x double, 1 x twin
  • Bathroom with bath, separate shower, basin and WC
  • Kitchen with breakfast bar
  • Utility
  • Lounge/diner
  • Fridge/freezer, dishwasher, washer/dryer
  • TV with Freeview, DVD, WiFi, selection of books, games and DVDs
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels provided
  • Parking space for one car on the road
  • Private lawn to the rear with furniture
  • 1 Pet welcome with £25 charge per week
  • Strictly No Smoking
  • Shop 2 mins walk and pub 15 mins walk
  • Please note, there is a separate property sleeping 8 (Lanapoule 1038355) above Fairview
  • This property can be rented in conjunction and the garden area joined to accommodate lager parties, or 2/3 families

The property

This pleasant property is located in the bustling seaside town of Salcombe, in a residential area with plenty of hidden gems to uncover; a perfect way to begin a holiday by the sea. Whether a getaway for two is on the horizon or a trip with the family, Fairview is a relaxing base to come together and spend some quality time in a calming destination. An external flight of stairs leads down to the lower ground floor accommodation, where you will discover a sitting room with comfy seating, and an extendable dining table in the window. The kitchen boasts a charming set-up, matched accordingly with wood effect counter-tops and sage coloured units, a lovely place to dish up your favourite meals throughout the day. Snuggle up in one of the two bedrooms as the night draws in, both neutrally styled with a glimpse of colour, and low lighting to bring a warm glow to the pretty sleeping arrangement. A family bathroom comprises of a quality suite with a bath and a shower cubicle. There is a useful utility room too with a spare fridge freezer, a great place also to store your beach equipment. Outdoors, the lovely lawn has fantastic views of the rolling Devon hills and Dartmoor in the distance, offering the perfect spot to relax on a warm sunny day. There are two pretty beaches within a short distance, North Sands and South Sands, and further on is the National Trust property Overbeck’s where you can wander through the subtropical gardens. Why not have a more adventurous day and try out the watersports available on the estuary, including surfing, kayaking and stand up paddleboarding? The southern tip of Devon provides some amazing scenery and picturesque vistas to make your stay that much more memorable.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £250.

View on map

About the location

SALCOMBE

Kingsbridge 7 miles; Dartmouth 21 miles; Plymouth 24 miles; Paignton 26 miles.

Salcombe is a popular destination for walkers and families looking for a holiday by the sea and was once a major port. There are two pretty beaches within a short distance, North Sands and South Sands and further on is the National Trust property Overbeck’s where you can wander through the subtropical gardens. Why not have a more adventurous day and try out the watersports available on the estuary including surfing, kayaking or a more leisurely boat trip? Whilst staying in Salcombe you must take advantage of the locally sourced seafood which is served in many of the restaurants, pubs, cafés and delicatessens. The southern tip of Devon provides some spectacular scenery and picturesque vistas with a number of sandy beaches, lovely villages with thatched cottages and some fantastic opportunities for walking, including the South West Coast path.

Property is accessed down a flight of stairs
No stag/hen or similar
Steep steps in garden, care to be taken
1 dog accepted with charge

Strictly No Smoking

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas