Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only.T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

13 people have recently viewed this property

Prospects

Salcombe, Devon (Ref. 995724)

4.5

Coast & Country Cottages rating

  • 6 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes

  • Show on map

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance

* Based on a combined average customer score

Group 2 Created with Sketch.

28 Customer Review(s)

  • Glen

    “We complained to Country Cottages in Salcombe about the lack of cleanliness in the property.”

    This included dirty & torn voile curtains to the lounge & kitchen, floor to ceiling, with 4 - 5 ft rips in them, dirty furniture, thick dust in quite a lot of places & dirt around the edges of the skirting & floors. We also found a pair of used ladies knickers under the bed along with a lot of dust, found by us due to dropping something that rolled under the bed. The feedback from Country Cottages, by e-mail, was that they were sorry, but the property would have a deep clean at the end of the ...

    This included dirty & torn voile curtains to the lounge & kitchen, floor to ceiling, with 4 - 5 ft rips in them, dirty furniture, thick dust in quite a lot of places & dirt around the edges of the skirting & floors. We also found a pair of used ladies knickers under the bed along with a lot of dust, found by us due to dropping something that rolled under the bed. The feedback from Country Cottages, by e-mail, was that they were sorry, but the property would have a deep clean at the end of the season. When we booked this property, the cost of the rental includes cleaning, so it is not acceptable to make this the excuse for being dirty. We have been with Sykes on numerous times over the years, & this is by far the dirtiest property we have stayed in. We stayed in a cottage in July & it was spotlessly clean, so why can't this be clean? The difference seems to be when a property is cleaned by the owner it is a far better standard, but when it is cleaned by a cleaning company, the standard appears poor. We would appreciate your feedback as the Country Cottages response is not acceptable. e were asked to provide photos which we did

    - Glen, September 2023

    Thank you for sharing your candid feedback and raising the issue of cleanliness, which we agree should be a 'given'. We have escalated your feedback with the house keeping team, so that future guests have a more positive experience. The response from Coast and Country about the end of season deep clean was correct, as this includes upholstery and curtains being professionally cleaned plus any improvement works being carried out. As I'm sure you can appreciate, completing this type of work can be challenging during the changeover period as this is just a few hours. However, we were not aware of the sofa stains from previous guests, which would have benefited from some remedial attention in the short term. Please be assured that the property is now 'closed' for maintenance works for the next few weeks to ensure that everything raised in your feedback is resolved. Property Owner

Summary

  • Three bedrooms: 1 x King-size with an en-suite bathroom featuring a shower over bath, w.c and basin; 1 x King- size bedroom and 1 x bunk bedroom with full size bunk beds
  • Shower room with shower, basin and w.c
  • Kitchen/dining room and sitting room adjacent to kitchen.
  • Gas fired central heating
  • Fridge/freezer, washer/dryer, oven, hob, dishwasher, microwave, toaster, kettle, wine cooler
  • Wifi available
  • TV and DVD player
  • Extensive baby friendly equipment
  • Parking for one small/medium car
  • Decking area to the front with table and chairs
  • Bed linen and towels supplied, guests will need to bring their own beach towels
  • Strictly No Smoking

The property

Prospects is a comfortably furnished ground floor apartment, with good views towards South Pool Creek and a short 5-7 minutes’ walk from the centre of Salcombe.

The single storey accommodation has a number of steps up to the front door and includes three bedrooms (one en suite) sleeping up to six guests.

The apartment is at the upper end of Coronation Road, a relatively quiet area of Salcombe yet only 5-7 minutes’ walk into the town.

The famous harbour and estuary, popular with sailors and other watersports enthusiasts, is very close by, whilst the beautiful beaches of East Portlemouth and Millbay can be accessed via a small passenger ferry that runs from the town all year round.

From the large decked terrace across the town, towards South Pool Creek and the Salcombe estuary. A flight of stone steps lead up from the parking area on Coronation Road to the ground floor entrance at the front.

An attractive and very good sized open-plan kitchen/dining area has a range of fitted wall and floor units, four-ring gas hob, electric oven, microwave, fridge/freezer, dishwasher and washer/dryer, and a dining table seating six comfortably.

Bi-folding doors out to the decked terrace.

Adjacent to the kitchen area is a pleasantly furnished and cosy sitting room with two double sofas, armchair, feature gas fire and television.

Further doors out to the decking.

The owners have provided a great deal of baby-friendly equipment to assist new parents.

Items supplied include a high chair, travel cot, toddler bed guard, Bumbo, bouncer, Baby Bjorn baby carrier, Avent steriliser, changing mat and potty. Three bedrooms in total.

The master bedroom has a King-size bed, bedside units, wardrobe, and en suite with bath, shower (over), wash-hand basin and w.c.

The second bedroom also King-size double bed whilst the third has a set of full-size bunk beds.

In addition to the en suite (above) is a further shower room with corner shower, wash-hand basin and w.c. To the front of the property is a superb area of decking with table and chairs for six.

Off-road parking directly off Coronation Road for one car.

Additional/alternative parking is usually available in the nearby long-stay car park. The property and location are ideal for a young family (baby-friendly) or couples looking for good quality accommodation and quick access to Salcombe.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location

SALCOMBE

Kingsbridge 7 miles; Dartmouth 21 miles; Plymouth 24 miles; Paignton 26 miles.

Salcombe is a popular destination for walkers and families looking for a holiday by the sea and was once a major port. There are two pretty beaches within a short distance, North Sands and South Sands and further on is the National Trust property Overbeck’s where you can wander through the subtropical gardens. Why not have a more adventurous day and try out the watersports available on the estuary including surfing, kayaking or a more leisurely boat trip? Whilst staying in Salcombe you must take advantage of the locally sourced seafood which is served in many of the restaurants, pubs, cafés and delicatessens. The southern tip of Devon provides some spectacular scenery and picturesque vistas with a number of sandy beaches, lovely villages with thatched cottages and some fantastic opportunities for walking, including the South West Coast path.

Gas fire not in use.

One well behaved dog permitted.

Please note that due to the nature of Salcombe, a number of our properties are located on a steep hill and may not be suitable for persons with mobility issues.

This property has a number of steps up to the front door and may not be suitable for persons with mobility issues.

Please note the outside furniture will be stored away from September until Spring.

Strictly No Smoking

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Last minute