POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Devon 6 minutes ago

Upper Marcam House

Salcombe, Devon (Ref. 995891)

  • Rating Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon

  • Sleeps 5

  • Bedrooms 3

  • Bathrooms 2

  • Pets Yes

  • View on map


  • Icon/Feature/Garden or Patio Garden / Patio
  • Icon/Feature/Shop Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Icon/Feature/Washing machine Washing machine
  • Icon/Feature/By the sea Seaside
  • Icon/Feature/WiFi Broadband / WiFi


Group 2 Created with Sketch.

9 Customer Review(s)

  • Expedition170568
    tripadvisor rating Trip Advisor rating icon full

    “BELOW BASIC STANDARDS - Rusty cutlery, chipped stained mugs, Hairs and dirts in kitchen cupboard. Curtains stained.”

    Dear All, ...

    Dear All, I have booked with Country Cottages many times over the last few years. I go with the flow that I am on holiday and that there may be quirks that we have to live with in exchange for excellent views. This property was totally unacceptable on a basic level. Rusty knives and forks, inside of mugs brown and chipped. Previous holiday makers washing still in machine. Hairs and dirt in food cupboards, storing pots and pans. The curtain in one of the bedrooms was hanging off the rail and was stained all in the inside. Main toilet flush worked now and then. The property smelt unfresh. I was asked by Coast and Country Cottages reception on arrival to wait for a period of time whilst they checked with he/she who would sign off the property in good order, after cleaning. On complaining I was told my issue was with the owner not them??Not sure as I booked with the brand of Coast and Country Cottage? Recently taken over by Sykes Cottages. So what gets checked? I have been offered an insulting £30 from the owner via Sykes Cottages? and informed that if I had complained during my 4 days stay, it would have been more. I bought my own crockery and carried on with my New Year Break and shared my views at the end of the holiday. The view is beautiful but the above tarnishes the view. I have declined the refund, as i am determined that others will not have their self catering holiday spoiled, in an apartment with below basic standards. We ate out rather than use the utensils. I will continue with this complaint on behalf of myself and other families.

    - Expedition170568, January 2020
    tripadvisor rating Trip Advisor rating icon full

    Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to learn that Upper Marcam House didn't live up to your expectations. We have passed your feedback on to the property owner and the housekeeping team to ensure the dining facilities are brought up to standard. Had we been contacted during your stay we would have made every effort to ensure the issues you have highlighted were rectified. However, in lieu of any contact from yourself I note that we have offered a gesture of goodwill. If you would like to discuss your complaint further please feel free to contact us. Kind Regards, The Customer Relations Team Owner relations

The property

Upper Marcam House is a spacious three-storey apartment located on Church Street and has superb views of the famous estuary.

It has been designed to a very high standard and occupies an enviable position within Salcombe.

On the second floor is a large open-planned living / dining / kitchen area with two large sofas, TV and DVD player, a fully-fitted kitchen with electric cooker, microwave, fridge and freezer.

There are full-width sliding patio doors which lead onto a substantial balcony with barbeque and outdoor furniture.

On the first floor are three bedrooms, the first is a 4’6” double with TV and estuary views, the second is a twin and the third is a single with TV and estuary views.

There is a bathroom on the first floor with a bath, shower (over), w.c, hand basin and shaver point.

An additional cloakroom provides a w.c.

On the ground floor there is a utility / shower room with a shower cubicle, sink, washer / dryer and storage facilities.

The property accepts one well-behaved dog.

Please note: all bed linen and bath towels are provided however tenants will have to bring their own beach towels and tea towels.

Wi- Fi available. For those looking for a centrally located property, just a two-minute walk from Salcombe’s shops and restaurants, this is a fantastic option.

The town’s beautiful beaches are also easily accessible via the foot passenger ferry, from the quayside.


  • Three bedrooms: 1 x double, 1 x twin and 1x single
  • Family bathroom with bath, hand-held shower, hand basin, w.c and shaver point
  • Cloakroom and shower room/utility
  • Substantial balcony.
  • Gas fired central heating
  • Fridge/freezer, washing machine, tumble dryer, oven, hob, microwave, toaster, kettle
  • TV, DVD, Music system
  • Wifi available
  • Balcony from lounge, with BBQ, table and chairs
  • Bed linen and bath towels supplied

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

About the location


Kingsbridge 7 miles; Dartmouth 21 miles; Plymouth 24 miles; Paignton 26 miles.

Salcombe is a popular destination for walkers and families looking for a holiday by the sea and was once a major port. There are two pretty beaches within a short distance, North Sands and South Sands and further on is the National Trust property Overbeck’s where you can wander through the subtropical gardens. Why not have a more adventurous day and try out the watersports available on the estuary including surfing, kayaking or a more leisurely boat trip? Whilst staying in Salcombe you must take advantage of the locally sourced seafood which is served in many of the restaurants, pubs, cafés and delicatessens. The southern tip of Devon provides some spectacular scenery and picturesque vistas with a number of sandy beaches, lovely villages with thatched cottages and some fantastic opportunities for walking, including the South West Coast path.

One well behaved dog permitted.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas

Sign up for exclusive offers and discounts

Uh oh! An error occurred, could you double-check your email?

Tick Created with Sketch.

Thank You! You have subscribed successfully