“BELOW BASIC STANDARDS - Rusty cutlery, chipped stained mugs, Hairs and dirts in kitchen cupboard. Curtains stained.”
Dear All, ...
I have booked with Country Cottages many times over the last few years. I go with the flow that I am on holiday and that there may be quirks that we have to live with in exchange for excellent views. This property was totally unacceptable on a basic level. Rusty knives and forks, inside of mugs brown and chipped. Previous holiday makers washing still in machine. Hairs and dirt in food cupboards, storing pots and pans. The curtain in one of the bedrooms was hanging off the rail and was stained all in the inside. Main toilet flush worked now and then. The property smelt unfresh.
I was asked by Coast and Country Cottages reception on arrival to wait for a period of time whilst they checked with he/she who would sign off the property in good order, after cleaning. On complaining I was told my issue was with the owner not them??Not sure as I booked with the brand of Coast and Country Cottage? Recently taken over by Sykes Cottages. So what gets checked?
I have been offered an insulting £30 from the owner via Sykes Cottages? and informed that if I had complained during my 4 days stay, it would have been more. I bought my own crockery and carried on with my New Year Break and shared my views at the end of the holiday.
The view is beautiful but the above tarnishes the view.
I have declined the refund, as i am determined that others will not have their self catering holiday spoiled, in an apartment with below basic standards. We ate out rather than use the utensils.
I will continue with this complaint on behalf of myself and other families.
Thank you for your feedback.
We are sorry to learn that Upper Marcam House didn't live up to your expectations. We have passed your feedback on to the property owner and the housekeeping team to ensure the dining facilities are brought up to standard.
Had we been contacted during your stay we would have made every effort to ensure the issues you have highlighted were rectified. However, in lieu of any contact from yourself I note that we have offered a gesture of goodwill. If you would like to discuss your complaint further please feel free to contact us.
The Customer Relations Team Owner relations